Push

Day 19: ON a diet vs HAVING a diet

I’m on day 19 of Chalene Johnson’s 30 Day Push challenge – today’s push is all about re-learning how to approach and think about nutrition, which has a tendency to be the hardest part of people’s lives.

IMG_0260

As Chalene says straight away: there is a huge difference between the two! The first, being on a diet, is unsustainable and can wreck the metabolism, whereas the second allows you to decide for yourself what to eat, and is a lot more sustainable as it allows for the odd treat too. Attitudes differ, and I’m guilty of this as well – the first is so much about restriction that it is too easy to cave in and fall off the bandwagon, and then not get back on it, becoming disheartened etc. However, the second option, having a diet, allows you to eat in moderation, still healthy (probably actually healthier) than the on a diet option.

For the push homework, I have to do a couple of things relating to nutrition and re-training myself as to how I see it: firstly, rather than panic every time I mess up, think to myself that I have a diet and I should be able to allow myself this. Secondly, I have to spend 20 mins today researching nutrition to make an informed decision about how I am going to address this, balance everything on a daily basis without putting in too much effort, and just genuinely knowing when to stop rather than pigging out constantly.

In regards to yesterday’s Push, I managed to get up today without snoozing the alarm. This was about an hour ago but I feel ready to do my workout now. I think I’ve got the morning routine all sorted with what has been suggested in this book, and I will share it here so you can try it/give me your feedback:

  1. Shut off alarm (which is on other side of room)
  2. Sort out today’s To-Do list and calendar
  3. Make a cup of tea, grab a banana/small snack
  4. Do today’s Push and blog about it
  5. Workout and blog about it
  6. Get on with the day

Once I’ve finished the 30 Day Push, it’ll obviously be a little different:

  1. Shut off alarm (which is on other side of room)
  2. Make a cup of tea, grab a banana/small snack
  3. Sort out today’s To-Do list and calendar
  4. Workout and blog about it
  5. Get on with the day

How do you approach your nutrition?

One thought on “Day 19: ON a diet vs HAVING a diet

Leave a comment